Grateful for a New Season of Life

Last week we went to visit our granddaughter at college. She was happy to see us, but no longer runs to give us big hugs like when she was a little girl. If I could have, I would have run, grabbed her and given her the biggest, tightest hug. Being on my best grandma behavior, not wanting to embarrass her, I didn’t. However, her hug was a pretty good one.

She gave us the big tour. Her dorm room was a typical design with the usual bed, chest, desk, etc. and was decorated in pink and gray, with pictures everywhere. She had added the essential fridge, microwave, computer and of course, music. There was a case of bottled water under her bed and a ½ gallon carton of milk in the fridge.

Her daddy had brought her more bottled water, some Skyline chili, and a new bat. Everything but the Skyline went into the trunk of her car. She inhaled the cheese Coney and put the 3-way into her fridge for later. I laughed watching her wash her Skyline down with a big glass of milk. “I bet there aren’t many other students in this dorm with a ½ gallon carton of milk in their fridge.” She just smiled. The girl loves her milk.

The campus was small, compact, just what she had wanted. She likes her classes and appreciates that her professors treat the students like adults. She works out every morning and practices with the team for two hours every day (M-F). She is happy.

Although she face-times often with her family, and her dogs, it was fun to see her clowning around with her dad, mom, and younger sister. I’m sure this is what she misses most, but she is adjusting well.

As Tom and I were enjoying breakfast the next morning, a young hotel staff member stopped by our table to see if we needed anything. “What brings you to our fair city?” Told her we were in town to see our granddaughter play softball that afternoon.

What a delightful conversation we had. I love seeing a city through the eyes of someone who is proud of where they live. Tracy was so friendly, providing us with tons of information about the city and the university.

Asking if she had children and did they attend the University of Charleston, she said only her son had graduated from college so far. “But, he chose to attend Marshall in Huntington because he wanted to get away from home. Just about broke my heart.”

After a short pros/cons discussion of leaving home to attend college, I inquired as to his major. Her face lit up with pride as she replied, “An English major. He read early and always wanted to be a teacher.”

I asked, “Does he love teaching?”

“Oh, yes. He can’t wait to get to school every day.”

She loved it when I told her my granddaughter was planning a teaching career. Not in English, but primary special education. She quickly added, “If she were to decide to stay in this neck of the woods, tell her my son recommends Putnam County. They have the best schools in the area.”

Sunday was a beautiful day to spend at the ballpark. The Golden Eagles tied one and won one. This mini-season allows coaches an opportunity to see the girls’ fielding and hitting abilities in game situations. We tried to commit to memory faces, and uniform numbers, so we can follow the team stats during the official spring season in 2018.

It suddenly became real. I teared up when our granddaughter entered the game at first base and when she was taking swings in the on-deck circle. Restraining myself, I clapped when she got her first hit but didn’t yell her name or make a fool of myself.

After watching her play since she was five years old, we know seeing her games will now be reduced to an occasional game here or there. No more watching from the bleachers, now we will cheer her on in spirit from our recliners. Information may come second-hand most of the time. We get that and accept this new season.

She knows we love her, knows we are proud of her. Change is inevitable and we must adjust to getting updates on her life on a more irregular basis. Be content knowing hugs will happen when she comes home for a visit.

This is her time, her season to grow and bloom as she explores the possibilities of her future.

So grateful to our daughter and son-in-law for taking us along with them last weekend. I’m sure we were a bother, but they acted as if we weren’t. God bless ‘em!

I could have put “Lord, I am grateful” after every paragraph in this post. It was a glorious weekend of good things happening in my simple, everyday life. I hope you readers are taking time to look closer and be grateful for all that is happening in your everyday world?

Ending on a Positive Note: As grandparents, it is difficult to let go. Loving our granddaughter as we do, we will strive to communicate on her terms. Stay connected without infringing on her new-found freedom in this new season of her life.

P.S. However, I am putting our youngest granddaughter on notice that she will have to do double duty in the hugging department for a while…

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Choices, Family, Gratitude, Letting Go, Life Changes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grateful for a New Season of Life

  1. so beautifully written – vivid, emotional, vulnerable – Thanks Agnes, for reminding me about gratitude

    Like

  2. Pam Tallent-Blackburn says:

    Agnes, Amen to all that you have stated. I find, sometimes, it’s a bit hard being a grandparent. We have our babies & then our grandbabies, before we know it, we have great grandbabies. Boy am I old….but loving every minute of the time I have with them.

    The memories that we have will last forever. Such a great article Agnes, thanks for sharing your insight of your life with us. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jan Gillespie Sentman says:

    Love your writing, spot on!
    Jan

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.