Facebook and Prayer Requests

One of the best things about Facebook (FB) is that we can reach a lot of people at one time when requesting prayer. I get these prayer requests often and have sent out a few myself. Usually people are requesting prayer for a loved one who is sick, going in for tests or surgery. Sometimes folks are facing an obstacle that is causing stress or fear. I always pray because I have been on the receiving end of knowing what it feels like when people are praying for me or with me. Prayers bring such comfort!

Recently, an old friend sent out a prayer request for her in-laws who were evacuated from their home due to a wild fire. FB friends immediately responded, praying for the in-law’s safety and for their home to be spared.

Unfortunately, the next day brought the sad news that their house had burned to the ground. Nothing left but ashes, nothing to salvage. My friend reported her in-laws were grateful for their safety and for being able to bring with them precious photographs and a few pieces of treasured memorabilia.  

Their loss has been on my mind for several days. If I were faced with the same dilemma, what would I choose to take with me? I know for certain it wouldn’t be the “organized junk” in my garage, but what about the dresses Sherry and Stacy wore home from the hospital as newborns? The many Christmas ornaments that were given to me by wonderful friends and volunteers at the Cincinnati Zoo or the homemade construction paper candy cane ornaments my daughters made in Kindergarten.

Most of the things in our lives are just “stuff.” The true value is found in the significance of the people, the friendships and the relationships.

I think I would choose exactly as my friend’s in-laws did. I would take things that couldn’t be replaced – the cherished photos of family and friends; photos that represent the memories of the significant people who have made such a difference in my life.

Ending on a Positive Note: Father God, you have blessed me beyond measure by the people you have placed in my life’s path. I am so grateful that you are always guiding me and equipping me to handle whatever comes my way. Thank you for the hope and peace that only you can give. Amen.

One thought on “Facebook and Prayer Requests

  1. Comment left on Facebook.

    Debbie Downs Snyder: I am going to enjoy reading your blog, and hearing your thoughts…thank you!

    Agnes: Thanks Debbie! My daughter has been writing a blog for over 10 years and has been encouraging me to start one for a long time. Finally got the courage and the time to do it. Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

