Simple Tips to Get Organized & Remove Clutter

Having grown up in an organized home, it made perfect sense for me to think I would always live my life that way. So imagine my surprise when I got married that Tom didn’t share my enthusiasm for organization; he was not even bothered by clutter. He didn’t seem to understand the importance of having everything in place. (Spoken like a very young bride!)

It is now over forty years later. Has my organization rubbed off on Tom? Has his ignoring clutter rubbed off on me? In truth, I think we have both influenced each other. He is definitely more organized, but I have learned to be more tolerable when things aren’t perfect. So we both win!

Friends and co-workers always tell me I’m super-organized. While I may be super-organized by some standards, I prefer to think of myself as just being simply organized. My advice would be to keep it simple; don’t make organizing difficult. Figuring out how to organize and simplify your life can give you more time to spend doing the things that bring you joy!

Something to Think About – A clutter-filled house can make you feel overwhelmed and exhausted. Everywhere you look, you see little chores that should be done. No single task is particularly difficult, but together, they add up to a big headache and a big mess. Sometimes it’s easier just to add to the piles than to try to attack the problem.

If you can relate to the above statements, you are in the right place because I am putting together a series of blogs to help you get organized and reduce some of the clutter in your life. While I realize not every tip will apply to everyone, I list them because women tell me of areas that are a constant struggle to them. 

Everyday Tip – Clean up your kitchen right after a meal

  • Get up from the table and do it! Don’t let dishes pile up or food spoil.
  • Put leftovers in proper containers.
  • Put salad dressing, milk containers, etc. into the fridge immediately.
  • Put dirty dishes into dishwasher or wash them.
  • Wipe off table, counter and stove top.
  • Clean up any spills or food particles on the floor (unless you have a “grand” dog named Buster or Pudge to take care of it for you).
  • Spot clean any spills on the floor.
  • Take out the trash.             

After working all day, you’re tired and it took every speck of energy you had to throw a meal together. Last thing you want to do is clean up the kitchen – it would be easier to do it later. Just do it and get it over with. It is easier and takes less time to clean up right now than to let it wait until later.   

Remember you don’t have to do it all yourself! Allow your husband and your kids to help you. It is a great way to teach valuable skills and responsibility.

Warning: Prepare yourself for lots of complaining from teens about what a horrible mom you are! I promise they get over it and they will not be scarred for life. Plus there will come a time when you can walk out of the kitchen and let them do it. Okay, you have to wait a few years, but it will happen!

PLEASE don’t tell yourself it’s easier to do it yourself than put up with the hassle. Kids know just how to play us moms (and so do husbands). Just concentrate on making it a way of life!

Next Week – Specific tips for reducing clutter in the kitchen.

Ending on a Positive Note: Making everyday menial tasks into a way of life uses less energy and brings order to your home.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Choices, Cleaning Tips, Clutter Control, Family, Organization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

