It’s Skyline Time

October is a very busy month! 

Did you know October has 85 different, silly, crazy holidays and observances spread throughout the month? There are another 54 observances for the individual weeks and 127 things (if I counted correctly) listed for daily observances. Whew! Makes me tired just doing the math.  

Silly me, I thought October holidays were Columbus Day, Bosses Day, Sweetest Day, Make a Difference Day, and my birthday!

But, after looking over the list of (official) October Holidays, I am thinking about adding the following to my celebration list.  

Eat Better, Eat Together Month (eating healthy with family/friends is good)

Go Hog Wild – Eat Country Ham Month (I’m from the country so no-brainer)

Month of Free Thought (so is there a fee the rest of the year?)

National Book Month (sorry books are to be read all year)

National Popcorn Popping Month (only eat it when I go to the movies)

National Roller Skating Month (on second thought – skating is for the young)

Organize your Medical Information Month (did someone say organize?)

Spinach Lovers Month (like Popeye – I eats me spinach!)

I saved the best for last. In fact, it’s why I wrote this post. October is National Chili Month, but I received a promotional email from Skyline suggesting a change to National Skyline Chili Month. I love the idea!

Since 1949, when Nicholas Lambrinides brought his authentic Greek chili to America and opened his first restaurant overlooking the skyline of Cincinnati, Skyline has been serving their famous chili to generations of Cincinnatians.  

Although the menu has expanded over the years, most people still order from the original selections using the original chili recipe with its secret blend of spices. The original menu included:

Cheese Coney (hot dog with mustard, chili, diced onions & shredded cheddar cheese)

3-Way (spaghetti, chili and shredded cheddar cheese)

4-Way (a 3-way with diced onion or red beans)

5-Way (a 3-way with diced onions and red beans)

So whether you live nearby or just passing through Cincinnati in October, take time to stop at Skyline and have some chili. Oh, and if you order your chili with onions, don’t forget to include a mint for dessert!

Ending on a Positive Note: Outside of Cincinnati, Skyline now has locations throughout Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana and even several restaurants in Florida. My favorite location is the Montgomery Skyline. Their chili is the best and they have the friendliest staff around!

 

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Cincinnati Chili, Humor, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Skyline Time

  1. skimhenson says:

    I think all the other holidays are in good company with your birthday – hope you have a happy one! And to celebrate your day and all the other October holidays, John and I went to Pawleys Island today and ate at Chive Blossom Cafe…okra pancakes and she crab soup. Next stop, Cincinnati and chili. Okay, maybe soon.

    Thanks for a fun post! : )

  2. Agnes Spurlock says:

    We’ll have to check out the Chive Blossom Cafe the next time we’re down your way. Okra pancakes sound good – I love okra! If you ever get up to Cincinnati, I would love to treat you to a Skyline lunch. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

