Will You Still Need Me When I’m Sixty-Four

The Beatles in 1964

Tom and I have always been fans of the Beatles. I remember vividly when they made their American debut on the Ed Sullivan show in February 1964. There we sat in my parent’s living room watching on a small black and white TV set while Beatlemania became a reality. As I recall, they sang She Loves You, I Saw Her Standing There and I Want to Hold Your Hand. When the camera focused on John Lennon the words, “Sorry girls, he’s married” were superimposed at the bottom of the screen. 

My daddy didn’t much care for them. On the other hand, my mother thought they could sing and especially liked their harmony, but she didn’t like their long hair! Remember this was 1964!

In August of ‘64, Tom and I went to Cincinnati Gardens to see the Fab Four live. Note I said saw because the screaming was so loud that we didn’t hear much, but we always thought it was pretty cool that we saw them in person. The tickets were $5.50 each and everyone we knew made fun of us for wasting our money.

Over the years, we watched their movies and bought many of their albums. I have many favorite songs, but especially liked the music from Yellow Submarine – All You Need is Love, With a Little Help from my Friends and No Where Man. However, the lines “When I get older losing my hair, many years from now . . . will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I’m sixty-four?” seemed an eternity away.

Tomorrow is my birthday and there will be sixty-four candles on my cake. My family has assured me they still need me and they still love me. A good friend treated me to dinner this week, another old friend called to sing Happy Birthday to me last night and I’ve received lots of birthday wishes. Even got a funny card reminding me that in the year I was born, one could buy a new car for $846, a new home for $5,600 and gas was $0.21 a gallon. Tom bought me a great birthday gift and we’re going to dinner tomorrow night to celebrate. A pretty good birthday week by my standards!

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?”

Satchel Paige’s quote above reminds us we are only as old as we feel. Age is just a number and the older I get, the less I think about it. So instead of counting candles or adding up the years, I think I’ll just listen to the lyrics of another favorite Beatles song, In My Life.

There are places I’ll remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever, not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places had their moments
With lovers and friends, I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life, I’ve loved them all

Ending on a Positive Note: Whether you like to listen to the Beatles or another genre, I hope you enjoy music as much as I do. Music has the wonderful ability to fit all our moods. It can inspire, calm, soothe, speak to our hearts and is always waiting whenever we need to listen. So turn up the volume and enjoy!          

 

 

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Family, Friendship, Humor, Life Changes, Love, Music, Relationships, Value and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Will You Still Need Me When I’m Sixty-Four

  1. skimhenson says:

    Hey Agnes, I liked David Cassidy and the Partridge Family – wow, what does that say about me? The Beatles certainly made a bit more of a lasting impression. Have a wonderful day! Kim

  2. Comments left on Facebook regarding this post:

    Denise Bradshaw Poage: Oh Agnes I love this! I’ve actually made the journey to Liverpool and walked on Penny Lane!

    Agnes: Thanks Denise! How cool – I would love to go to the UK someday!

    Joy Folsom Lancaster: Yep…and I think also I want to hold your hand….My best friend’s dad was a TV technician, so they had one of the few color TVs, so I got to see it in color–but the colors were mostly yellow and green as I recall! Happy 64th birthday!

    Agnes: I remember those first color TV sets. Look how far we’ve come since those days. Thanks for the birthday wishes.

  3. Sue Montgomery says:

    So glad you had a good birthday! I remember a hard plastic sheet you could put on your tv to make it look color. I think my father-in-law had this. The top was tinted ever so slightly a blue and the bottom was tinted green. Worked somewhat for outside shots, but needed help for people.

  4. Carol Schneeman-Schuh says:

    Agnes,
    Thank you for the wonderful blog about your life and the Beatles. We were in Applebee’s last night after our football game and in the backround the song IN MY LIFE came on sang by a woman not the Beatles but the lyrics are still great. Thank you. Carol

  5. Drenda King says:

    Enjoyed your blog on the Beatles and BDay. What a memory. I was at the concert at the Gardens but would never have remembered the year, let alone the month. Thanks for remembering for me. 64 is creeping up there for lots of folks!!! Enjoy the beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

