Walking in Balance

Sherry & her daddy

Recently, a young mother was expressing her concern to me that her little boy, who was almost a year old, was not walking yet. As I reassured her he would soon quit hanging onto the coffee table, I was reminded of when Sherry, my oldest daughter, was learning to walk.

Sherry would circle the living room; hanging on to the sofa, the end table, a chair and an ottoman until there was nothing left to hold on to. She would then drop to her knees and crawl as fast as she could to the next piece of furniture and start the “holding on ritual” all over again. As she held onto furniture or my hand, her little legs would fly. It was obvious that Sherry could carry her own weight; the only thing stopping her was the uncertainty of her footing. Her need was to hold on — to something or someone.

Every night, I would turn Sherry toward her daddy and encourage her to walk a few steps to him. Tom would catch her and turn her around so she could take a few wobbly steps back to my arms. Sherry loved this new game and would laugh as we played it over and over, night after night. She had faith that her daddy and I would catch her and we always did.

However, without our arms to catch her, she would sometimes fall. Her eyes would fill with tears, but she was determined to get back up and try again. Then one day Sherry just took off and walked across the room. I held my breath until she reached her destination. Her little face lit up with the realization of what she had just accomplished. I grabbed her and whirled her around the living room saying, “Sherry, you did it. You did it!”

I called Tom, my mother, my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law and my best friend to tell them about the monumental feat. My conversations were short because Sherry was anxious to try her newly learned skill again and again. For the next few days, she walked with purpose and focus – with her arms outstretched to give her stability. Sherry had found her balance.

________________________________________

Ending on a Positive Note: As adults, how often do we walk as a little child? We need someone to hold on to; someone to catch us when we fall. If we choose to focus on God, He will keep our steps firm and steadfast as we walk the path He has prepared for us. Faith in God will give us the strength we need and He will always be our balance.

 

Leave a Reply

