I Am Not Smarter Than a 3rd Grader

Have you ever watched the TV show Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader? The game show is based on asking grade-school level questions to adults and is hosted by Jeff Foxworthy, best known for his “You Might Be a Redneck” humor.

The premise of the show is to test how much an adult contestant has retained since he or she was in elementary school. Contestants are presented with a set of ten subjects and grade level (1st to 5th) topics. The contestant chooses a topic and is then asked a question; most questions are multiple choices or true and false, and some must be answered without any options. If the contestant answers all ten questions correctly, they must answer a bonus question to win $1,000,000.

Only two people have won the game since it started in 2007, which means that tons of people have had to admit they are NOT smarter than a 5th grader.

Tom and I watch the show now and again. Sad to admit we fare no better than the majority of the contestants. I do okay until there is a question about geography. Geography was never my forte in elementary school and as an adult it is safe to say that things haven’t improved. I would say when it comes to geography; I truly stink up the gym!  

So when an email arrived yesterday with It’s Time for your U.S. Geography Test in the subject line and a link to the test, I couldn’t resist. Really, who would know if I did poorly? There was no TV camera; no one to see my test results. Besides it might be good for a laugh and I love to laugh!

When I clicked on the link the instructions were easy to understand. Drag and drop all U.S. states into their proper place on the map in the time allotted. If I was successful I would be promoted to the 4th grade.

I must confess it took me three tries to get out of the 3rd grade, but the geography test was a fun challenge and did indeed give me a reason to laugh! And laughter, especially when I am laughing at myself, is always a good thing.

So, how are you at geography? Got a few minutes to try it out? Click on the webpage below. GOOD LUCK!           

http://www.pibmug.com/files/map_test.swf

Image from Google Images/US Maps

Ending on a Positive Note: We all get tested once in a while and learning to laugh at ourselves is therapeutic. The ability to laugh easily can relax the whole body and boost the immune system. Take a few minutes everyday to relax and recharge with a good laugh. I promise it will make you feel better!

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Humor, Letting Go, TV Shows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Not Smarter Than a 3rd Grader

  1. skimhenson says:

    Oh my goodness – I didn’t know it was timed! I’m stuck in 2nd grade – maybe lower. I’ve wanted to learn where the states are but haven’t taken the time. And I wonder where I was when they taught this in elementary school???

    What a great activity. I’ll have to revisit it later for more practice. Really, I’m geographically challenged and 36 was the most I got right.

  2. Glad you had fun with the activity! I think my brain is overloaded with too much useless knowledge for me to remember elementary geography.

Leave a Reply

