Count Your Blessings

Count your blessings, name them one by one, Count your blessings, see what God hath done!

I remember singing that old hymn when I was a kid and can still hear my mother telling me, “Count your blessings; not your troubles and you will see that things aren’t as bad as they seem.”

To celebrate November as the month of Thanksgiving, I have decided to count my blessings by transforming my blog into a Daily Gratitude Journal. I invite you to join me on my simple daily quest to live more abundantly “in gratitude.” 

Gratitude Journal Day One: Priceless Gifts

Grateful for being able to spend a fun afternoon with my daughters as they enjoyed revisiting the music from their high school years. (See Priceless Gifts posted Nov. 1st) 

Gratitude Journal Day Two: Election Day

I am grateful to live in America where I am free to cast my vote for the candidates of my choice. Even though I am critical of much of the rhetoric today, I am grateful to live in a country that believes in the freedom of speech.

I am grateful to the many men and women who have sacrificed so much for my freedom. I am grateful for parents who taught me to accept and respect those elected, even when they are not the people I voted for.

Photo – Google Images & Count Your Blessings written by Johnson Oatman, Jr., 1897.

 ___________________________________

Ending on a Positive Note: Real life isn’t ever going to be perfect or go our way, but appreciating life’s daily gifts will allow us to find blessings in difficult situations.

2 thoughts on “Count Your Blessings

  1. I love any post on gratitude – it makes me feel so much better about myself than grumbling. It’s just too bad being grateful doesn’t come as naturally but I do practice it more often than ever before. And reminders help…thanks for this one.

Leave a Reply

