The Better To See You. . .

 

Gratitude Journal – Day Six

I am truly grateful for my five senses; the ability to see, hear, touch, smell and taste.

Gift of Sight: Seeing my precious daughters for the first time, watching the amazing birth of my two granddaughters, smiles, tears of happiness, colorful rainbows, beautiful sunsets, fluffy white clouds in a blue sky, and waves gently lapping over the sand at the beach.  

Gift to Hear: Listening to music, hearing the wonderful giggles and laughter of my daughters and granddaughters, listening to a wonderful sermon, and never ever tiring of hearing my family tell me they love me.  

Gift of Taste: A delicious pasta dinner, grilled veggies, homemade bread or a warm piece of cornbread, a four-way at Skyline, a big piece of homemade pie or cake, and a cold glass of water when I’m really thirsty.

Gift of Touch: Being able to hug my loved ones, a relaxing shower, snuggling under the blankets on cold mornings, warm sun on my face, sweet hugs and wet kisses from little kids, and taking a deep breath on a cool, brisk morning.

Gift of Smell: Being able to smell fresh coffee brewing in the morning, chocolate chip cookies, a bubbly apple pie or a spicy pumpkin pie right out of the oven, catching a whiff of my husband’s aftershave, and going to sleep on clean sheets right out of the dryer.

Ending on a Positive Note: About 18 months ago, I lost my ability to taste and smell because of a severe reaction to a medication. In an instant, it was evident how easy it is for us to take our blessings for granted. I am grateful to be slowly regaining my sense of taste and am hoping my sense of smell will also return. If not, then I will just focus on the abundance of other blessings in my life.

2 thoughts on “The Better To See You. . .

Leave a Reply

