To Mow or Not To Mow

Gratitude Journal – Day Nine

Writing about mowing the lawn in November may seem like a strange topic. But, my friend Judy’s FB message yesterday saying, “Hopefully, I used the lawnmower for the last time this year,”  reminded me that Cincinnati weather can be so unpredictable that people are never quite sure when to put the lawnmower away for the winter.

Mowing the lawn was never my job. Tom and I made a pact early in our marriage that he would take care of the outside of the home and I would be responsible for the inside. All these years later, it still seems like a great agreement to me.

So today, I am grateful that Tom doesn’t have to mow the lawn anymore. It was never a job he enjoyed because he is allergic to grass, but he never complained. A friend recently asked Tom what was the best thing about living in a condo. To which he replied, “Hearing the sound of the lawnmower in the summertime and realizing I’m not behind it.”

Ending on a Positive Note: Whether Tom is behind the lawnmower or listening to someone else doing the mowing, he still is my favorite person to spend time with. Think I’ll keep him around!

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Choices, Gratitude, Humor, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

