Life Comes at us Fast

Gratitude Journal – Day Nineteen

Yesterday, I started my day with a 2 ½ hour breakfast with my friend Patty. It was wonderful to see her and catch up on each other’s lives. She left me with my spirits uplifted. Patty has a knack of always leaving me better than she found me.

The rest of my day was a busy one, so I was happy there wasn’t much traffic on I-71 because it meant I didn’t have to rush to my next destination, a funeral service to honor a wonderful lady named Nellie Smith.

Not wanting to deal with the merging traffic coming in on my right, I clicked on my turn signal and moved to the middle lane. Out of nowhere, a red sports car appeared in the outside lane moving way too fast. Just as the red car was almost even with me, it hit a patch of water and went into a spin. Swerving into the right lane and escaping being hit by mere inches, I watched helplessly as the red car spun in circles across all three lanes and back before crashing into the medium wall.

The whole incident only lasted a matter of seconds, but it seemed like an eternity. With my heart racing and my hands shaking, I pulled over to the side of the road to regain my composure. Worried about the driver of the red car, I looked over to find him out checking the condition of his car, talking on his cell phone and giving a “thumbs up” to those of us that had stopped. His car was a mess, but he seemed to be untouched.

As I continued on my way, I thanked God that no one was hurt. Still shaken, I found myself unable to remove the picture in my mind of what had just happened.

By the time I arrived at the church for the funeral I had calmed down. Nellie’s service was a great tribute to a wonderful person. Her beautiful smile and her kind heart had touched the lives of so many people during her 85 years on this earth. She was a special lady!

Yesterday was an emotional day that included happiness, laughter, sadness, tears and an unexpected reminder of just how precious life really is. Life is so fragile and can end in an instant, so living our best life everyday is important.

It is comforting to know that God is always with us in any struggle we face in this life and that we can find peace in the knowledge that He is always in control.

“Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you.” Isaiah 41:10

Ending on a Positive Note: Like the commercial says, “Life Comes at Us Fast!” Even when the struggles we face in this world make us weak and weary, the truth of God’s love will see us through to the end.

Leave a Reply

