Twice Blessed

Gratitude Journal–Day Twenty-One

Tom and I are celebrating Thanksgiving today with my brother’s family. The menu is turkey with all the trimmings. My contribution is two butterscotch cream pies, my brother’s favorite.

I know you’re saying, “Ag has finally lost it. She doesn’t even remember that Thanksgiving is next Thursday.” Well, my memory isn’t that bad, YET! We will be doing Thanksgiving again next Thursday with our kids, but I have listed a few reasons why celebrating Thanksgiving today is a good thing too.  

 1 – We were invited.

2 – My sister-in-law is a terrific cook and food always tastes better at her house.

3 – It will be great to see their family.

4 – The day you celebrate isn’t as important as who you celebrate with.

Tom just gave me another reason – two celebrations mean two great meals. Two great meals that will take hours to prepare, but will be consumed in less than fifteen minutes.

After eating too much, the men will excuse themselves to watch football (which is jargon for taking a long nap with the TV on). They keep the volume turned up to cover the sound of their snoring.

The women will clear the table and put the dishes in the dishwasher. They wish they could take a nap, but know they can’t because that would be rude. And after all, someone has to entertain the guests!

Ending on a Positive Note:  I am grateful for being able to spend two different days celebrating Thanksgiving. To eat too much, laugh at old family stories and just enjoy spending time with people I love and cherish.

Leave a Reply

