Thanksgiving Poem

Gratitude Journal-Day Twenty-Four

 

Twas the night of Thanksgiving

But I just couldn’t sleep

I tried counting backwards

I tried counting sheep

 

The leftovers beckoned

The dark meat and white

But I fought the temptation

With all of my might

 

Tossing and turning with anticipation

The thought of a snack became infatuation

So, I raced to the kitchen, flung open the door

And gazed at the fridge, full of goodies galore

Gobbled up turkey and buttered potatoes

Pickles and carrots, beans and tomatoes

 

I felt myself swelling so plump and so round

‘Til all of a sudden, I rose off the ground

I crashed through the ceiling, floating into the sky

With a mouthful of pudding and a big plate of pie

But, I managed to yell as I soared past the trees

Happy eating to all – pass the cranberries, please.

 

May your stuffing be tasty

May your turkey be plump

May your potatoes and gravy have nary a lump

May your yams be delicious

May your pies take the prize

May your Thanksgiving dinner stay off of your thighs

 

Ending on a Positive Note: I received this email from several folks and thought it was too cute not to share. Wishing you and yours a Happy Thanksgiving filled with your family’s favorite foods and stories. Enjoy being together. Be safe and be grateful. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Leave a Reply

