A Little Pretzel Joy

After eating too much rich food and too much sugar over the holidays, I had decided that today was going to be my first day in 2011 of eating healthier. I was fixing my oatmeal when I saw it. The last chocolate covered pretzel stick!!

Originally there were two pretzels individually wrapped in festival cellophane and tied with a bright red ribbon; one pretzel for me and the other for Tom. They were included in a little gift our friend Vicky gave us on New Year’s Eve.

So what was I supposed to do? The pretzel really was Tom’s, but he hadn’t eaten it in 3 days so obviously he didn’t really want it. And there is the fact that I was taught to never throw away or waste food. So I did what any well brought-up, red-blooded American girl would do – ate my oatmeal like a good girl and then gobbled down the chocolate covered pretzel stick for dessert!

After my nourishing breakfast, I sat down at my computer to catch up on Facebook and found a post from my friend Kim who basically had the same experience I did (almost at the same time).

Her post read, Day 1 of eating cleaner: Did pretty well until I opened the freezer and saw a bag of *pretzel joys. There were only 2 left and my Granny taught me to not waste my food so I proceeded to scarf them down…no one was home to see me cheat…until I looked down and saw the DOG staring at me in disgust!! There was no joy in my pretzel joy!”

Boy, am I glad we don’t have a dog!

Ending on a Positive Note: Although I had never heard of a pretzel joy, this morning I found great joy in learning a new fact and eating the last chocolate covered pretzel stick in my house.

*Kim says a pretzel joy is a white chocolate covered pretzel.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Christmas, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Pretzel Joy

  1. skimhenson says:

    I have made it back to the gym but I haven’t even attempted to promise myself I’ll eat healthier. I admire you for even thinking about it with sweets still dancing like sugar plums…

    Good luck to us both (and to the other Kim) as we put away our sugar in exchange for a carrot. : (

  2. I think it’s because all the sweets are finally gone. I made a big pot of beef-vegetable soup for dinner with lots of carrots. Hot soup tastes so yummy on a cold night. Let’s hope we all have a healthy 2011.

Leave a Reply

