New Year’s Resolutions

January is not my favorite month of the year because it is usually very cold and I’m not a big fan of cold weather. What I do like about January is it offers us an opportunity for a fresh start to create change in our lives. We usually call these changes resolutions and every year we resolve to get more organized, eat less, exercise more, spend more time with family and friends and less time at work, etc. We are determined to make changes to create a positive difference in our lives.

We resolve means we have decided or we have made our minds up to accomplish a task that will change our lives for the better. Sounds so easy, doesn’t it? So easy, as if just saying it aloud or writing it down will make it happen.

In an attempt to create a life changing year, I used to make a long list of resolutions. It wasn’t a bad plan, except I usually tackled too many changes at once and frequently didn’t focus on the right areas.

It usually took about three or four weeks for my resolutions to go awry in the midst of busy and challenging days.

In 2011, I am resolved to go slow and try to understand what is most important to me; not try to fix everything at once. So I’m devoting the whole month of January to take stock of what is in my life and identify what I need and what I can do without.

Whether you have or haven’t made your resolutions for the New Year, I invite you to join me on a journey of taking small steps to create change in 2011.

Ending on a Positive Note: Changing your life can be difficult. Taking your time, setting simple goals and keeping them in perspective can make change a little easier.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, getting organized, Life Changes, Organization and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Sam Elliston says:

    Hey Agnes,
    I’m with you and I love the permission to take my time with this. Good thinking.
    Sam

  2. Sam, I take my time with most things these days. It seems wisdom does come with age. Good to hear from you.

  3. I, too, am trying to make changes, one moment at a time. I wish you much success!

  4. Thank you for your encouragement. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

