A Leap of Faith

My little green sleigh filled with Christmas cards has been sitting in my office for almost two weeks. It is always the last Christmas item I put away every year. Why? Because I like to re-read each Christmas letter we received. The letters bring up-to-date “year in review” news and have wonderful family photos enclosed. I love reading about the experiences folks had during the past year and what they are looking forward to in the New Year.

Many of our friends are around the same age as Tom and I, so their letters are filled with news of grandchildren at various stages of life. Some children are brand new to the world, some are just learning to walk, some are going to school for the first time, while others are in different grade levels and participating in sports and all sorts of activities. While re-reading them today, it dawned on me that this was a compilation of the many steps we take from birth to becoming an adult.

We are trained from childhood to take small, slow steps forward; building carefully on what we’ve learned as we move carefully from first to second to third grade and so on. We learn to walk before we run. We are taught to build slowly and not to take any giant steps. We are advised not to make giant LEAPS forward.

But as we get older, we find there are times in our lives when we are faced with taking a leap. I’ve taken more than a few in my lifetime; some turned out really well and others were beneficial in teaching me a good life lesson.

I am not anticipating any giant leaps in 2011, but if they come along I will welcome the opportunity. I will not be afraid to break out of my comfort zone to learn something new. I will leap into new relationships that promise to challenge and enrich my life. I will leap toward finding abundance and happiness on a regular basis because sometimes we can only find those things if we are willing to take a leap of faith.

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”               Martin Luther King, Jr.

Ending on a Positive Note: In 2011, I hope you will be comfortable taking an occasional LEAP toward abundance and happiness. I thank you all for being in my life and for all of the joy and inspiration you continually give to me. I hope I have given you some of that too! Happy New Year!

 

 

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Friendship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Leap of Faith

  1. Comments left on Facebook:
    Abigail Nilsson: I love reading your blog posts! Everything is worded so well!
    Agnes: Thanks so much Abigail. I’m glad you enjoy reading them.

Leave a Reply

