Choices

Do you remember the first time you realized you had the authority to make a decision that would change or impact your life? I suppose it happens sometime as we are growing up, but I honestly do not remember.

As small children, we are allowed to make choices as to which game to play, which puzzle to complete or which crayon to use in our coloring book. Are these earth-shattering choices? Of course not, but starting with small decisions allows us to gain confidence in our ability to make positive choices.

Through the years as we continue to grow, we gain experience and knowledge that decisions and choices carry a certain amount of responsibility. Words like accountability, dependability and consistency start creeping into our lives to teach us our choices allows us to maintain some control over what happens to us.

My parents always told me that not making a decision becomes the decision. Not making a decision seemed to be a waste of time, so I learned to select the option that seemed to be the best fit. And when I made the wrong decision, I tried to not repeat the mistake.  

Then I got married and had children. Becoming a parent brought lots of new responsibilities; one of which was teaching our girls how to weigh options and praying they would choose wisely.

Having just retired, I feel a new sense of freedom that I have earned the right to make choices on how I want to live the rest of my days.  

Ending on a Positive Note: Regardless of our choices, life is ever-changing. Maybe the best choice is to just do the very best we can and try to live a life we are proud to own.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Balance, Choices, Life Changes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

