Autumn Leaves

The falling leaves drift by the window
The autumn leaves of red and gold

Autumn is my favorite season. I love the beautiful trees and bushes in peak foliage of red, yellow, brown and a little green. Although it can sometimes be a bit chilly, the air always seems so fresh and clean.

Each season is beautiful and each season has things that we love and also things we complain about. The four seasons are like pieces of a puzzle; we need all of the pieces to complete the cycle.

As I sit looking out my bedroom window, I see a row of evergreen trees planted to serve as a divider between our condo and the houses on the other side.  Peeking through the evergreens are small accents of the gorgeous autumn foliage.

The evergreens reminding me that winter is just around the corner. I don’t like the cold, but I love to look at winter; the first snow, icicles’ glistening in the sunlight as they slowly melt and recalling fun memories of playing in the snow or building a snowman with my kids. There is absolutely nothing better than sitting in my rocking chair with a good book, a hot cup of tea and a warm blanket.

The first snow is lovely, but after a while I get tired of wearing heavy coats and snow boots. The weather is cold, the ground is hard, and the trees and plants seem to be dead. I start to wish I could just see a flower or buds on my little tree and bushes in the front yard.

There are a few things I know for sure. One is that the seasons always change into the next bringing new sights, new sounds, new smells and new, exciting opportunities for us to live our best life. Just as a tiny tree bud turns into a beautiful blossom; one season can often be filled with hardship and then evolve into a season of joy and happiness. But, without the frosts of early autumn the colors of the leaves would never be as vibrant.

Our lives can change quickly. There are times when things are going great and other times when it seems you can’t catch a break. We cannot control the seasons and seldom are we in control of what is happening in our lives.

So, as autumn changes into winter, why not look around to see what you can find to enjoy in this season of your life. Spend more time doing what brings you joy; with people who bring you joy. Life is short – learn to enjoy every moment.

Ending on a Positive Note:  Looking for joy and happiness in the moments and seasons of your life often requires courage and strength.  Philippians 4:13 tells us, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

Leave a Reply

