A Year Worth Remembering

Dr. Seuss

Today is the last day of 2012 and I am reminded of a sentence I read earlier this week. “On the eve of a brand new year, forgetting about the bad and remembering the good things that happened this past year will make for a better new year.” I can’t seem to get this sentence out of my head. Do I really want to forget the bad? Is that even possible?

Trying to forget the bad things is sort of like burying your head in the sand. Refusing to think about an unpleasant situation and hoping it will improve so you won’t have to deal with it. Life seldom allows us to truly forget the bad, but we do have the option of focusing on what is worth remembering.

2012 has been a challenging year for our family. A year filled with lots of ups and downs. Yes, there were plenty of bad things that happened, but 2012 also was filled with smiles, laughter, joy and lots of love. We tried to take the bad situations in stride and chose to focus and concentrate our energy on the journey and the true joy that can be found in doing life together!

2012 was a year of learning, growth and a new understanding of life; cherishing family and old friends, while making room to connect with so many new friends. Our lives have been blessed by the number of people who have touched our lives and forever changed us. Those are memories worth remembering.

Ending on a Positive Note: I don’t know what 2013 will bring, but I know that my only resolutions are to take the New Year one day at a time. To simplify, live more intentionally, give more than I receive, and focus on the people who matter most.

 

 

8 thoughts on “A Year Worth Remembering

  1. Love this post, Agnes. I think I can practice simplifying and living intentionally even though I’m not good with resolutions. Glad I stopped by because I didn’t receive your post automatically and I’m wondering why??? Maybe it’ll come later. Happy 2013!

    • Kim, I don’t have a techie bone in my body so I’m not much help. If you don’t receive it, you may have to sign up again. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  2. Comments Left on Facebook

    Susan Geselbracht: Beautiful, Ag. Happy New Year to you and your family. Love you.

    Jane Bosse: Happy New Year to each of you.

    Diane Ruda Smith: A woman of grace and courage. A role model for all of us! I pray that you and your family will be blessed with a million and one memorable days in 2013! I loved the beautiful smile on Sherry’s face as…. she too… is a symbol of her mother’s ideology. xoxo

    Bev Taylor Downs Sherman: Ag, you seem to have summed it up for all of us. What’s left to say except you and your family are with each of us every single day. Sherry is always in our heart and our prayers. Live everyday with her like it’s her last and really focus on her and really HEAR her…and fulfill her every wish. Each day is a gift and just keep love surround you all. What will be, will be and God is the only one with the answers. Just follow what he has planned for Sherry and stay the course as the very best you can and never look back. I can tell you for certain that all the bad things become a blur and all of the good times live in your heart forever and ever. Hugs to all.

    Sally Bowser Sandusky: beautiful, Agnes.

    Wanda Langdon: Beautiful words Agnes. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Lucy Hoffman Vinci: Wonderful ……Thank you!

Leave a Reply

