2013 Word of the Year

MagnetsFor several years, I have been reading about people that choose a specific word as their Word of the Year. I thought it might be fun to join with several other friends and choose a Word of the Year for 2013.

I absolutely love words and have since I was a little girl. I love reading words. I love playing word games. I love words on plaques and refrigerator magnets. So how hard could it be to find one word?

But, this is my fourth day of contemplating on finding the perfect word for 2013, so obviously it’s not as easy as I thought. But while storing away my Christmas decorations, I stumbled on the perfect word. It was right there in front of me on a refrigerator magnet.

My daughter and I have been making simple (but fun) arts and crafts during December. The photo above shows some of our refrigerator magnet creations. The process was simple. We wiped white dominos with an alcohol solution and then stamped them with colored dots of paint. We loved how the paint spread to create totally unique designs on each domino. Let the paint dry and super glue a magnet on the back and you’re done. We added some of our favorite words and phrases to make them more special.

Sherry and I found that our designs got better the more we experimented with different colors and stamping techniques. We offered all of our Christmas guests a magnet to take home with them. It was amazing how long it took some of them to choose a favorite. Some chose a magnet because of the color combinations, but most chose their magnet based on the word adhered to the top of the magnet. As you can see, we had some great words and phrases listed. But the phrase “never stop improving” jumped out at me.

So my word for 2013 (drum roll please) is IMPROVE which means to bring into a more desirable or excellent condition, to make more useful or valuable. The word feels right for me.

Do you have a Word of the Year for 2013?

Ending on a Positive Note: The old saying, “there is always room for improvement” can apply to anything we do or say. We can do something small every day to improve ourselves, our attitudes, our work habits, our homes, the way we communicate and interact with family and friends, and the world around us.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Choices, Holidays, Life Changes, Positive Thinking, Value and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2013 Word of the Year

  1. skimhenson says:

    Great word, Agnes. And I love the magnets. Very creative! Peace is my favorite.

    I chose a word-of-the-year for the first time in 2012 and, for me, it works so much better than resolutions. Last year’s word was incremental. It took me months to feel anywhere near proficient at it, but once I did, it made all the difference in how I approached projects, my writing, cleaning house, etc.

    This year my word is ponder. We’ll see how that goes. I wanted an action word like yours. I really like improve. Mine sounds like I’m supposed to sit on a mountaintop and chant, but I’m going with it because like you said, it jumped out at me.

    What is Sherry’s word?

    Can’t wait to hear what 2013 has in store for both of us!

    • Agnes says:

      Kim, I have been concentrating on simple and downsizing so much the last few years that I just couldn’t go there again. Improve just immediately felt right.

      I love your word and I am trying to picture you on top of the mountain chanting, “ponder, ponder, ponder.” But, somehow I think you have too much energy to sit still for very long. LOL.

      Sherry hasn’t decided yet, but I think she is leaning toward spontaneous.

      • skimhenson says:

        It’s funny how our words find us, isn’t it, Agnes?

        I was reluctant to go with ponder because I am a bit hyper (putting it mildly). I planned on a word like yours, something like productive or create. Or like Sherry’s word spontaneous. However, each time I tried to change, it didn’t feel right.

        Ponder on a mountaintop it is, while you and Sherry spontaneously improve. If I don’t stop whining, I’m going to have to change to that word. 🙂

        Love that your blogging again. I missed you!

  2. Agnes says:

    Thanks, it feels good to be back.

  3. Agnes says:

    COMMENTS ON FACEBOOK

    Renea Frey: It’s funny – I’ve been trying to “choose a word” all day. I’ll let you know when the perfect one comes to me. I want something that includes the ideas of moving forward AND relaxing — I need to do both in equal parts. I’m still kicking around ideas…. I’m glad you found one for you.

    Pam Tallent-Blackburn: Agnes, that’s such a great idea! I wish I was as creative as you. I sure hope that 2013 will be a good & peaceful one for you my friend. Let Sherry know that she’s my kind of girl….I love Jolly Ranchers also.

  4. Agnes says:

    Renea & Pam: Choosing a word was a little tough, but I have it posted by my computer so I don’t forget it. That happens when you get as old as I am! LOL

Leave a Reply

