Get Comfortable with Change

After getting over her fear of riding a pony for the first time, Jessica is all smiles.

After getting over her fear of riding a pony for the first time, Jessica is all smiles.

While waiting in the checkout line at Bed Bath & Beyond last night, a lady asked if I had made any resolutions for the New Year. Briefly, I told her my resolutions were to take 2013 one day at a time, to simplify, live more intentionally, give more than I receive, and focus on the people who matter most. (From my 12/31/2012 blog “A Year Worth Remembering”).

She shared her two resolutions were to lose weight and clear away the clutter in her home. Laughingly, she said, “But I’ve already given up on losing weight because I weighed myself this morning and I have gained five pounds since January 1st.”

The New Year always has people talking about making significant changes for the better. The beginning of a brand new year is a great time to resolve to create a change in our lives, but we should not expect to change a habit we would like to break overnight. It has probably taken us years to create and fine tune; taking baby steps to change a habit seems more attainable.

So, if this is another year of “I’m going to do this or change that.” Here are a few suggestions that might help you succeed in 2013.

  • Create a simple plan & write it down
  • Be realistic about your goals & action steps
  • Hold yourself accountable & review your plan weekly
  • Don’t be too hard on yourself
  • Adjust your plan along the way, but don’t give up
  • Relax and take it slow
  • Surround myself with people that encourage you
  • Live in the moment (life is short)

Here’s to embracing your opportunity for significant change in 2013.

Ending on a Positive Note: Making a significant change in your life can be scary at first, but as you became more comfortable it became easier and easier.

 

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Choices, Life Changes, Life Lessons, Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Get Comfortable with Change

  1. Agnes,
    I am starting Opti Fast and have hired a pal to come help me sort out my office as I am retiring from teaching about volunteer management this year – lots of paper to throw away – whee – the Optifast is 16 weeks of their food and then a slow re-entry to food, lots of exercise and mandatory support groups- so far so good. Taking it one day at a time- as I know you are.
    I’ll keep you posted as you update us here –
    Love, Sam

    • Sam,
      WOW! Big changes, but I know you can do whatever you put your mind to change. The volunteer classes will not be the same without you. What an impact you have made on so many lives, including mine. Hang in there! You can do it. Keep me posted and know that I am praying for you.
      Love, Agnes

  2. Carletta says:

    While here visiting Cristy we are organizing , say a prayer it stays this way! Lol She is so busy running kids everywhere, she seems exhausted all the time! Thanks for letting me vent a bit! Lol

    • Carletta,
      Always have an open ear for your venting. Cristy is in the same place as Stacy; always tired, but continues to keep on truckin’. It’s so difficult when they are working and running kids all over the place. I remember those days, don’t you? We had a tough time, but I also remember them as a whole lot of fun!

      Will pray for you and Cristy. Enjoy your visit and good luck with the organizing. Take care.
      Agnes

  3. skimhenson says:

    I love the fact that two weeks have already passed since New Years Day and I’m still on track. 🙂 Believe it or not, it’s my best record so far.

    I think I’ve been successful because, instead of making resolutions, I named (and wrote down just like you said) three things I wanted to complete in January. I’ll do the same next month and so on. My goals this month are sort of big so I hope I don’t get discouraged if I have to carry them over the February. If all else fails, I’ll ponder it. Love that my word slows me down.

    Thanks, Agnes. These are great tips, especially writing down goals.

  4. Agnes says:

    Congratulations on your milestone. The older I get, the more I find simplicity is the answer for happiness in my life. BTW, I still can’t get the picture of you chanting “ponder” on the mountaintop out of my mind. It makes me giggle everyday. Keep on pondering…

Leave a Reply

