Special Ordinary Days

Wedding DayToday is my wedding anniversary; a day for celebrating forty-nine years spent with my husband and best friend. A special day, but in some ways it’s just another day; an ordinary day.

I wouldn’t describe Tom as a big romantic type of guy, but throughout the years he has totally surprised me with some special gifts. While those gifts were great, they are not necessarily proof he loves me. He proves he loves me by the way he treats me on the ordinary days. True love shared in small ways, every single day.

Tom shows he loves me when he helps with the laundry or goes to the grocery store (a job he has done for many years simply because he knows I hate it); when he allows me to watch a TV show or movie he isn’t interested in, just so we can be together. He listens, which is huge! Seriously, have you ever heard how much I talk?

Tom gets excited about things that excite me. He believes in me and has always been supportive of my many projects. He respects women. He respects me. He respects our daughters (and our granddaughters); proving his love to them by being a steady, strong role model every day.

He continually makes me laugh and tells me he likes me best with no makeup, in jeans and gym shoes. Tom is a great husband, wonderful father and grandfather, good friend and the most dependable, reliable person I know. Daily, I see in the small ways that really matter how much I mean to him. Oh, and just for the record, I just happen to love him with all my heart. He is truly the love of my life.

Ending on a Positive Note: I’ve heard it said that “Love is the key to a long and happy life.” Well, so far my life has been very happy, but forty-nine years with Tom isn’t long enough. So, here’s hoping we can renew our option for a few more decades to achieve that long life.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Family, Love, Value and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Special Ordinary Days

  1. Congratulations for finding a match like this and best wishes fr continued togetherness

  2. skimhenson says:

    Agnes, I hope y’all have another 49 so I can read 49 more posts about a happy marriage. Such an inspiration. Love your attitude and love you!

  3. Agnes says:

    Thanks, Kim. What a lovely comment. I get the impression you and your husband share a similar situation. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

