A Brand New Year

For last year’s words belong

to last year’s language

and next year’s words

await another voice.

And to make an end is to

MAKE A BEGINNING.”

-T.S. Eliot-

___________________________________________

Happy New Year 2017!

Welcoming every New Year is a time for reflection on expectations, opportunities, and change.

I sort of gave up on resolutions a few years ago. I never was successful with keeping them. I got tired of feeling guilty, tired of beating myself up.

In the last seven years, my life has been altered so drastically I barely have had time to contemplate the changes. Frustration, pain, and sorrow often seemed to represent the only changes that were taking place in my life.

I retired, lost too many beloved family members; too many friends. Downsizing, battling health issues, getting rid of years of accumulated “stuff” and working to find a new purpose for living presented tough times.

The transition has been difficult and slow. Adapting to a new style of living. I have learned to prioritize my life, not my stuff. My faith has become more childlike and simple, like my life.

In 2017, I will not waste my days focusing on expectations. I will just take what comes my way and accept what I can’t control. If opportunities arise, I will take the ones that make sense and dismiss those that don’t fit. And change, well, change is what it is. Sometimes it’s good. Sometimes it’s bad. Most of the time, change is just different.

Regardless of the reason, changing your life can be overwhelming. Concentrating on the important things, staying positive, and never forgetting who is truly in charge helps you make it through the difficult and changing times.

I am in a good place.

 

Ending on a Positive Note: God’s promise in Isaiah 41:10 reminds me, “Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you.”

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Awareness/Action, Choices, Faith/God, Letting Go, Life Changes, Life Lessons, Positive Thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Brand New Year

  1. Tom Borin says:

    Thank you Aggie, for those thoughts, as we age I think we all should take the time to assess where we are on the path of life, and what our priorities are. It has taken me a long time to come to grips with that concept but I’m working on it and you have given me a few things to ponder. Thank you old friend.

  2. Tom,
    Thanks for your comments. Isn’t it interesting how long it takes for us to come to grips with our lives? I think this stage of life is pretty cool.

  3. Agnes Spurlock says:

    Comments left on Facebook

    Faye Nestor: I wish I could write like you, its almost like you wrote for me. I hope you are doing okay. This past week has been so difficult; I just relieved Chuck’s last week every day.

    Agnes: Faye, what a wonderful compliment. I hope my words bring you comfort. Losing those we love is so hard. Take care.

    Nancy Dawley: Thanks, Aggie. Good, positive thoughts.

    Neil Thompson: Thanks, Agnes. Good start for my day.

    Mick Hatfield: Nice message. You’re the best, Aggie.

    Nancy Bedell Cook: Yes, very nice message. I try to live that way every day. Thx u.

    Agnes: Thank everyone. I appreciate the encouraging words.

  4. Carol McLain Benham says:

    Thanks Agnes for your inspirational message. God is good and is working through you to reach so many lives. You are so blessed to express yourself in such an amazing way. Love you big sis♥

Leave a Reply

