To Everything There is a Season

Ecclesiastes 3:1 Inspirational Image

Old age changes people. I know because it has changed me.

All my life, I have lived by the rules. I liked living with habits, routine and structure. Living with structure meant life ran more smoothly without too many surprises.

I had a routine for every aspect of my life. I could multi-task with the best of ‘em.

From running my household, to maintaining a busy career, to volunteering at school, at church, and in the community; I had everything under control.  It was a good life.

One of my favorite things to do at home and at work was clean and organize. At home, I loved cleaning out closets, the basement, and the garage. At work, I actually liked to clean out files and reorganize shelving units. I always told myself it was so I could put my finger on whatever I needed, when I needed it. But now, I realize it also included the mundane of the cleaning, the reorganizing.

Health issues often bring big changes to one’s life. They have in mine. Learning to accept I won’t bounce back to doing things my way has been challenging. My need of structure is still there. It just looks a little different.

I no longer function like the “energizer bunny.” I still plan when I am going to do a task, but it often gets postponed because of lack of interest (or knowing my body is not going to cooperate).

Taking Christmas decorations down and getting the house back to normal used to be an afternoon project. Cleaning out a closet was a few hours. Those kind of projects now take a bit longer; sometimes a couple of days or even a week. I have learned I can only physically do one small project each day.

Living with less has brought a new freedom to my life. Living with less has allowed me to prioritize my life, not my stuff. In my little apartment, there is a place for everything and most of the time things are in their place. Who knows when something is out-of-place? Nobody. Just me and I am learning to accept it really doesn’t matter much to anyone else.

My life is in a new SEASON. I think I like it!

_________________________

Remember the old Byrds song from the sixties, Turn, Turn, Turn, (To Everything There is a Season)? I always loved hearing that song; the lyrics were taken almost verbatim from the book of Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8, in the King James Version of The Bible.

In 1995, I was in charge of A Day in Eden, an annual festival which celebrated Greater Cincinnati’s neighborhoods and Eden Park cultural attractions. It was by far the largest event I ever planned with over 150,000 people in attendance for the weekend.

The Byrds were a part of the entertainment for the event. The group wasn’t as popular as they once had been. They were sort of hanging on to their fame from the 1960s. The members of the group were really nice and surprised me by telling me their biggest hit was really a cover of an old Pete Seeger song recorded in the early fifties.

The lyrics read:

“To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born, and a time to die;

A time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

 A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to reap, and a time to sow; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.”

Ending on a Positive Note: I am so grateful for the seasons in my life. The people I have met who brightened my days. For learning to live with less because it truly is more.

About Agnes Spurlock

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and perspectives about the simple, everyday life. I truly believe that the ordinary days are where we find the real joy in our lives. Make every day count!
This entry was posted in Choices, Life Changes, Organization, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to To Everything There is a Season

  1. Joyce Mullikin says:

    I believe the Lord slows us down as we grow older. Most of us have rushed through our days & years, always with to many things to get done in a day. I am finding that I’m slowing down now & learning to truly enjoy what He has blessed me with.
    I enjoy watching the doves outside the window looking for a safe place to build their nest. I’m enjoying the seasons much more. There is so much beauty in each one & im noticing it now.
    Finally, I now have time to spend with my husband, children & once in awhile our grown grandchildren. I’ve finally learned what is important in life.
    I think of you often, Agnes, my prayers are with you.

    • Joyce, you are so right. It’s pretty cool to be at this stage of life knowing what is truly important in our lives. I appreciate your wonderful comment. I miss seeing you. Take care
      .

  2. You have always been a positive ingredient of whatever season I am in and I like reading about your process and changes. I respect the simplification of living in a smaller apartment and I honor your finding peace in it. Thanks for writing these again

  3. Pam Tallent-Blackburn says:

    Amen, Amen Agnes! I was like you, at one time, Agnes….everything had a place. Now, in my home, you can’t tell if someone is coming or going. dust, dust everywhere. I just tell myself, if I am unable to do it today, It will be there tomorrow. As the saying goes, One Day At A Time!
    🙂 🙂

  4. Pam, so glad you are giving yourself permission to do life “one day at a time.” I love this age!

  5. Sandy Ingram says:

    Well said, I also find I can only do some many little tasks in a day. Like you I have let go of so many things I used to keep and display, in my apartment I only have so much room, Therefore, choices were made and many things have now been taken to the thrift store, hopefully someone will enjoy them.

    • Sandy, thank you for your thoughts. The amount of room in our apartments dictates, but the choices to rid ourselves of our “stuff” can be so freeing. I hope others are enjoying those things we have chosen to give away.

  6. Kathy says:

    Agnes,
    Your writing speaks to my heart. Thank you for sharing your wisdom, lessons and ways of being greater. I love you for who you are and whose you are. -A woman of grace!
    Kathy

  7. Susan Dorl says:

    Aggie, I am trying to get my house ready to sell. I have a friend who told me to get rid of stuff, then get rid of half of what I still have before moving into a 2 bedroom condo. It is really hard, but I am working on it.

  8. Susan, your friend gave you good advice. I will add one more suggestion. After you are in your condo for a year, go through all your stuff again. You might find there is more to discard. You are so right about it being hard, but I promise you will feel a new freedom when your complete the task. Proud of you.

  9. Dianne Koop says:

    Thank you Agnes! Wonderful blog — it’s you all over — kind, thoughtful, reflective, generous. . .so happy to be your neighbor and friend. . .xo

  10. Connie Rudy says:

    I am where you are, Agnes. My kids won’t want most of “my stuff”, so I take to one of the thrift stores and never miss it. Really enjoy your writing.

  11. skimhenson says:

    Agnes, I can sure relate. I was the Energizer Bunny on steroids. Now, not so much! I do like my more relaxed pace even though it means not accomplishing as much. Slowing down has it perks like enjoying my grandkids. Well, that’s not always a slow pace, but you know what I mean. 🙂

  12. Agnes Spurlock says:

    Kim, slowing down has given me so much peace. Keep enjoying those darling grandkids. Take care.

Leave a Reply

