I’ve Grown Accustomed To This Life

During the week, Tom and I have about six TV shows we enjoy watching together. But, there are others he likes and I don’t. When those moments happen, I pick up my Kindle and read. I really prefer reading real books, but the print seems to have shrunk over the years. My Kindle gives me the option of enlarging the font to a size that is easier to read.

Most of the time, when I read I simply ignore my surroundings. Immersing myself in a book, I have always found it easy to tune out the world. My hearing is not great and I have been wearing hearing aids for some years. Although they allow me to hear, they can be bothersome and quite annoying. Sometimes, when Tom is watching a football game and the noise is interfering with my reading, I just take my hearing aids out. Problem solved.

Recently we were trying to figure out what to do with our Saturday. Stacy had stopped by for a couple of hours. We always enjoy spending time with our girl. She had been alone. Tim and the girls had other commitments. When she left to pick up Jess from dancing, Tom suggested we watch movies all afternoon since no football games were scheduled. We love movies, but on regular TV it’s difficult to find something we hadn’t seen before. Flipping channels, Tom wondered aloud if we could find anything decent.

We’re lucky that our preferences have sort of merged over the years. Our choices seldom include science fiction or the ones where the world gets blown up. I like the kinder, gentler movies. Give me a good story that makes me laugh or cry and I’m hooked for the next few hours. I love real stories; you know the ones that tell the story of a real person, who really accomplished something. Tom likes to watch a good mystery.

On this Saturday, we ran across a channel celebrating Sandra Bullock Day. The Blind Side was just starting. Although we had seen it before, it was one of our favorites. A true story of Michael Oher, the film follows him as a homeless young student on the streets of Memphis, through his years at a Christian Academy, his adoption by a wealthy family, to his position as a highly sought-after prospect in college football, finally becoming a first-round pick of the Baltimore Ravens. The movie had scored big at the box office and Sandra Bullock had taken home the Best Actress Oscar.

We hadn’t seen it in a while, so even though we were familiar with the plot, we enjoyed seeing it again, agreeing that it was probably Sandra Bullock’s finest hour. However, the next movie was a lesser known film called The Net. Advertised as an American cyber action thriller, I remembered it, but Tom swore he had never seen it.

The film was okay, but a bit outdated as the computers were still using floppy discs. Sandra Bullock’s character is a systems analyst working from her home. Someone steals her identity and she spends the rest of the film trying to find the culprit and the reason why her life has been hacked. Along the way, she uncovers a conspiracy scheme that she alone must expose. A little far-fetched, but the ending was the same one I remembered from years past.

Throughout the movie, I asked Tom if he remembered it. His answer was always, “Nope, nothing is familiar.” Finally at the end of the movie, he says, “Wait a minute, I think I do remember this movie. Is this the movie where her mother has Alzheimer’s?”  My response, “Good memory, hon.”

Our life has become so comfortable. We’re so predictable when watching TV. Our conversation is often, “Hey, hit the pause button, gotta go to the bathroom.” “Stop it for a minute. I need something to drink.” “I’m getting up. Want a cookie.”

If Tom enjoys the movie, he tries to stay awake. If there is no noise coming from his side of the room. He is probably not into the movie and not far from snooze land. However, his snoring is not as bad as it used to be. Maybe I’ve just grown accustomed to the sound.

Ending on a Positive Note: I am so grateful for the ordinary days. So glad Tom and I made it to the comfortable stage of love.

8 thoughts on “I’ve Grown Accustomed To This Life

  1. enjoy and yes we do become so much like each other the older and longer we are married. It is so nice to just sit next to each other and watch movies even if we do snooze off.

  2. I’m glad we are comfortable with you and Tom. Love hearing how life is with two wonderful, loving friends. Bless you and Tom for being such good friends.

  3. I’m glad you have made it there too- it was fun to hear about your Saturday afternoon musings – and I enjoyed the Net- haven’t seen it in a while – glad it’s back out there – glad to hear you are content in your relationships and activities. You have always been a positive person in my mind, Agnes.

  4. Comments Left On Facebook:

    Kathy Giuseffi I’d give anything for those ordinary days again. Don’t take any single one for granted. Enjoy 😀 😀 😀

    Nancy Frazer Glad you have those days

    Jan Chesney Loved it. I can so relate!

    Carol McLain Benham So enjoy your writing. Thanks for sharing these wonderful thoughts and experiences. Grateful to have you in my life big sis!!

    Patricia Rankin Love reading your blogs ??? We need to do lunch

    Eddi Milstead Keller Loved it!!! I felt like you were describing us watching TV. Isn’t it great to have your best friend to watch shows and movies with?

Leave a Reply

