Timing is Everything

“Everything is hard before it is easy.” -Goethe-

Life has been a little crazy lately, so my blog is short this week.

Tom and I are approaching our two-year anniversary of living with less. We are convinced we made the right decision to downsize and get rid of many of our things.

We don’t miss anything that is gone. We sold some, gave away more, and kept enough to fill our small two-bedroom apartment. We have what we need. We know we are where we belong. Our building is filled with nice people just like us, trying to grow old gracefully.

Yesterday, I was reminded our lifestyle is not for everyone. We made a choice that is working very well for us but obviously is not so easy for other people.

At the doctor’s office yesterday, I had a brief conversation with a gentleman struggling to find answers for a dilemma in his life.  For once, I didn’t initiate the conversation. He just started telling me he was trying to convince his wife to move from their house to a condo. He commented, “It is becoming difficult to keep up with my yard work. I’m ready to downsize.”

His comments were quite familiar. Tom and I had that conversation about 2 ½ years ago. Listening to this fellow, I’m just grateful we had arrived at the same place at the same time.

This guy was ready to move to the next level and his wife wasn’t. He wanted simple. His wife liked their current lifestyle. My heart went out to them.

As I listened to him listing pros and cons, I realized he was just speaking aloud a conversation that been swirling in his mind for some time. When he asked my opinion, I told him the truth as I knew it. “You and your wife will know when the time is right.”

When he asked my advice, I replied carefully, “Take it slow, be honest, talk (not argue), and treat each other with respect.” Making rash decisions never seem to work out well.

Hopefully, he and his wife will listen to each other and find a compromise that will work in their life. Life is hard, but treating the person you love with respect and kindness is always the right thing to do.

Ending on a Positive Note: My heart is full of gratitude that Tom and I are almost always on the same wavelength. I am reminded that much of life is working through the small details, but the right timing helps.

4 thoughts on “Timing is Everything

  1. AMEN to that Agnes! Simple is so much better & even better when both agree on when it’s time for whatever. I so enjoy your comments & your view on life as it is. Hope things are going okay for you & Tom. Stay well my friend. 🙂

  2. I am in awe of ho you and your relationship. I love your advice to the man you met. And I am also in awe of your acknowledgement of how all of you at your residence are trying to age gracefully. My gut tells me that you are doing more than try – I believe you are doing it and you sure are a model for me.

Leave a Reply

